ECIElection Campaign-Finance Index
How well is money in politics regulated and disclosed?
Dimensions
Contributions
83.3% · 3/3| Datapoint | Score | Rationale & evidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| CONT.1Contribution limit framework codifiedIf contribution limits exist, are they set by statute (not administrative discretion)? If no limits, is that absence explicit in statute? | 1/1100.0% | Section 18:1505.2(C)(1) explicitly codifies in statute a specific contribution limit ($200 per calendar year for cash contributions) with a clear mechanism for above-threshold contributions (must be by named instrument). The limit is set by statute itself, not delegated to administrative discretion, and the framework is enumerated with precision regarding the form and amount. | § view source 2026-06-08 |
| CONT.2Independent expenditure rulesAre independent-expenditure rules (third-party spending separate from candidate committees) codified in statute? | 0.5/150.0% | The statute codifies a disclosure requirement for electioneering communications by third parties (persons, committees, entities, organizations making disbursements), specifying name, address, telephone, and web-address disclosure in subsection (2)(c). However, the section does not define what constitutes an 'independent expenditure,' does not establish numerical limits or restrictions on such spending, and does not provide a complete procedural framework including penalty schedules or enforcement mechanisms. The statute addresses disclosure clarity but lacks comprehensive statutory definition and enforcement procedure for independent expenditures as a distinct regulatory category. | § view source 2026-06-08 |
| CONT.3Anonymous-contribution treatmentAre anonymous contributions (cash below the threshold, etc.) addressed in statute with a defined disposition (returned, forfeited, etc.)? | 1/1100.0% | The statute explicitly prohibits anonymous-source expenditures and defines a clear disposition: anonymous contributions must be reported and shall escheat (forfeit) to the state. The section further specifies procedural requirements for cash contributions under $200, requiring named receipts and immediate return if the contributor refuses to identify themselves, establishing a complete statutory framework for anonymous-contribution treatment. | § view source 2026-06-08 |
Disclosure
60.0% · 3/5| Datapoint | Score | Rationale & evidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| DISC.1Disclosure threshold in statuteIs the disclosure threshold (amount above which contributions must be reported) defined in statute, not regulation? | 1/1100.0% | The statute explicitly defines the disclosure threshold at $5,000 for contributions and expenditures for candidates for non-major offices, and requires all candidates for major or district offices to file without threshold. The threshold is codified directly in statute, not delegated to regulation or administrative discretion. | § view source 2026-06-08 |
| DISC.2Enumerated filing scheduleIs the filing schedule (pre-election, post-election, quarterly, etc.) enumerated in statute with specific deadlines? | 1/1100.0% | The section explicitly enumerates the filing schedule in statute with specific deadlines: an initial report within 60 days after gubernatorial inauguration, then annual reports by February 28th until all contributions are expended. The content requirements (donor identity, contribution date/amount, expenditure details) are also specifically enumerated. This satisfies the procedural-clarity requirement for filing schedule specification. | § view source 2026-06-08 |
| DISC.3Disclosure of contributor identityDoes statute require contributor name, address, occupation, and employer be disclosed for contributions above the threshold? | 1/250.0% | The statute requires disclosure of contributor full name and address for contributions above the reporting threshold, satisfying the basic identity requirement. However, the section does not mandate disclosure of occupation or employer information, which are explicitly required under DISC.3 for a full score. Only name and address are statutorily enumerated. | § view source 2026-06-08 |
| DISC.4Public access to filingsAre campaign-finance filings legally required to be publicly accessible online within a defined time of filing? | 0/10.0% | No matching sections in corpus. | no FTS match 2026-06-08 |
Enforcement
37.5% · 2/4| Datapoint | Score | Rationale & evidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| ENF.1Penalty schedule codifiedAre penalties for campaign-finance violations defined in statute with specified amounts (civil) and/or criminal grades? | 1/250.0% | La. R.S. 18:1505.4 provides a detailed, statutorily-codified civil penalty schedule with enumerated amounts (per-day rates and maximum caps) differentiated by candidate office level and committee type. The statute establishes clear enforcement triggers (knowingly failing to file, failing to timely file, knowing and willful disclosure failures) and specifies civil penalties with precision. No criminal penalties are mentioned in this section, resulting in a score of 1 (civil only) rather than 2. | § view source 2026-06-08 |
| ENF.2Enforcement body independenceIs the enforcement body (election commission, attorney general, campaign-finance regulator) appointed by multi-branch process and protected from in-cycle political control? | 0.5/150.0% | The section identifies the Board of Ethics as the enforcement body and references its establishment in R.S. 42:1132, but this section alone does not specify the appointment process or protections from political control. The criterion requires both multi-branch appointment and in-cycle political insulation; this section delegates to another statute without providing those details here. Statutory grounding exists but procedural clarity on independence is incomplete without reviewing the referenced statute. | § view source 2026-06-08 |
| ENF.3Private right of actionDoes statute provide a private right of action (citizen or party suit) for campaign-finance violations? | 0/10.0% | No matching sections in corpus. | no FTS match 2026-06-08 |
Foreign Source
0.0% · 0/4| Datapoint | Score | Rationale & evidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| FOR.1Foreign-source prohibitionIs direct foreign contribution to a candidate or campaign committee prohibited by statute? | 0/10.0% | No section in the FTS-surfaced candidates satisfies this criterion. Best signal: This section concerns voting-system procurement and the Voting System Commission's composition and duties. It does not address campaign contributions, candidate funding, or campaign committee finances. The foreign-source affidavit requirement in subsection L applies only to voting-system vendors, not to campaign contributors or donors to candidates. FOR.1 requires a statutory prohibition on direct foreign contributions to candidates or campaign committees, which is entirely absent from this section. | § view source 2026-06-08 |
| FOR.2Indirect / pass-through foreign rulesAre indirect foreign-source channels (foreign nationals via domestic entities, foreign-controlled LLCs, etc.) addressed in statute? | 0/20.0% | No section in the FTS-surfaced candidates satisfies this criterion. Best signal: This section addresses bribery and intimidation of election officials and candidates, not foreign-source contributions or indirect foreign-financing channels. It contains no statutory provisions regarding foreign nationals, foreign entities, foreign-controlled pass-throughs, or corporate-ownership tracing for campaign finance purposes. | § view source 2026-06-08 |
| FOR.3Foreign-source verificationAre campaign committees required by statute to verify contributors are not foreign-source (vs. relying on contributor self-attestation alone)? | 0/10.0% | No matching sections in corpus. | no FTS match 2026-06-08 |
Traceability
50.0% · 1/2| Datapoint | Score | Rationale & evidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| TRACE.1Records-retention requirementAre campaign committees required by statute to retain records (contributor lists, expenditure documentation, bank statements) for a defined period? | 1/1100.0% | Louisiana R.S. 18:1491.5 imposes a clear statutory mandate on committee officers to maintain comprehensive financial records, including names and addresses of contributors, dates, amounts, descriptions of in-kind contributions, expenditure details, petty cash transactions, and loan documentation. The statute enumerates specific record categories with defined data elements. However, the section does not specify a defined retention period (e.g., 3 years, 5 years, or indefinitely), which is a component of a complete records-retention requirement under the procedural-clarity standard. | § view source 2026-06-08 |
| TRACE.2Audit accessAre campaign-committee records subject to mandatory audit (post-election random sample, threshold-triggered audit, or routine cycle) under statute? | 0/10.0% | No matching sections in corpus. | no FTS match 2026-06-08 |